Caffè Ritazza World Barista Championship to take place in London

SSP News Release 31-August-2011

Nine contenders from around the world will compete in the final of this year’s Caffè Ritazza World Barista Championship, which will take place at the historic Dickens Inn at St Katharine’s Docks London on September 21st.  

During the competition, the contenders will prepare four espressos and four cappuccinos, together with a signature drink of their own creation, under the watchful eye of a panel of expert judges. The event is adjudicated to the standards of the Speciality Coffee Association of Europe, which means that the skills of contenders are bench-marked against those of the world’s most successful competitive baristas.

‘Caffè Ritazza’s baristas are all trained to the most exacting standards,’ says Stuart Coombes, international franchise director for Caffè Ritazza. ‘This contest gives the very best of these the opportunity to show-case their craft and compare their performance with the international stars of coffee making.’


A number of past contenders for the Caffè Ritazza title have themselves gone on to compete in external competitions, honing their competitive skills alongside developing their careers at SSP. These include Sindy Midgley, now an International Brands Manager at SSP, Grazioni Moroni, now National Coffee Specialist for SSP UK, and a finalist from last year’s competition, Matthew Roberts. Stuart Coombes was himself also a competitor in the national UK championships and is qualified as certified Speciality Coffee Association of Europe UK Barista Championship Judge.


This year’s finalists are:

 Marta Twardygrosz from Liverpool Airport, UK

 Ziadabi Nakhoul from Dublin Airport, UK

 Anne Marie Sacksteder from Longeville services, France

 Kristsada Kwannogen from Copenhagen Airport, Denmark

 Kajsa Bysell from Stockholm Central Station, Sweden

 Christian Roman from Paphos Airport, Cyprus

Thomas Pettersson, from Oslo Airport, Norway

Kittipong Chaiyapim from Suvarnabhumi Airport, Thailand

 Ashfaq Ahmed, from Zurich Airport Switzerland

Last year’s competition, which was held in Rome, was won by Jurate Skarzauskaite from the UK.



© SSP Group plc The Food Travel Experts 2008 - 2019